Guillermo O’Donnell Award Launch and Lecture

Award Sessions
Session Chair:

Dr. Kim Fontaine-Skronski


Prof. Terry L. Karl, 2023 LASA Guillermo O'Donnell Democracy Award RecipientTerry L. Karl

 IPSA is pleased to collaborate with the Latin American Studies Association (LASA) to mark the launch of the new IPSA Guillermo O'Donnell Award. For the occasion, we are thrilled to welcome Prof. Terry L. Karl, the 2023 LASA Guillermo O'Donnell Democracy Award Recipient, for the launch lecture. Thanks to the generous support of its founder, Prof. Gabriela Ippolito-O'Donnell, this new IPSA award is meant to reward a Latin American scholar with residence in the region who is working on pioneering and innovative research in political science. The recipient is awarded a monetary prize of $3000 USD and invited to give a lecture at the World Congress of Political Science. Given in honor of Prof. Guillermo O'Donnell, a distinguished Argentine political scientist, the prize will be awarded for the first time at the 2025 World Congress of Political Science.


Terry L. Karl is Professor of Political Science at the Centre on Democracy, Development and the Rule of Law at Stanford University (Freeman Spogli Institute for International Studies). She is also a Gildred Professor of Latin American Studies, William and Gretchen Kimball University Fellow and a Senior Research Scholar of FSI/CDDRL. Prof. Karl specializes in comparative politics and international relations, and works more specifically on transitions to democracy, oil-exporting countries, the resolution of civil wars and human rights. Her book The Paradox of Plenty: Oil Booms and Petro-States (University of California Press, 1998), was rewarded as one of the two best books on Latin America by the Latin American Studies Association (LASA).


In Person